Who’s Running for What in Shelby County

Tomorrow candidates for Shelby County offices can pick up petitions to run for the August 2018 election. Ryan Poe of the Commercial Appeal has a listing of who will be on the ballot for various offices next year.

The floodgates of campaign announcements opened in recent weeks although some candidates — especially in the county mayor’s race — are already months, if not years, into their campaigns. Here’s a quick rundown of how the field is shaping up in 2018:

In the mayor’s race, Trustee David Lenoir, Juvenile Court Clerk Joy Touliatos and County Commissioner Terry Roland are vying for the Republican nomination to face the Democratic candidate: Sen. Lee Harris or former commissioner Sidney Chism.
In the race for sheriff, Chief Deputy Floyd Bonner, a Democrat endorsed by Republican Sheriff Bill Oldham, faces Republican Dale Lane, director of the Shelby County Office of Preparedness.
In addition to Roland, a number of other term-limited commissioners are looking to change seats. Melvin Burgess will run for assessor; George Chism for trustee; and Justin Ford for Harris’ Senate seat, possibly against Rep. Raumesh Akbari.
The County Commission election will be a political free-for-all. In District 1, Roland’s seat, Shelby County Democratic Party vice-chair and St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital scientist J. Racquel Collins-Milinkovich is running as a Democrat. In District 5, chairwoman Heidi Shafer’s seat, Republicans Geoff Diaz and Richard Morton have announced. In District 7, Burgess’ seat, Tami Sawyer, a Democrat and leader of the #TakeEmDown901 grassroots movement to remove Confederate statues, will duke it out with Republican Sam Goff, president of both the Midtown Memphis Development Corp. and the Evergreen Historic District Association. In District 8, the seat being vacated by Walter Bailey, Memphis Housing Authority chairman Mickell Lowery, attorney JB Smiley and Memphis Housing and Community Development inspections manager Daryl Lewis are all running as Democrats. In District 9, Justin Ford’s seat, Memphis City Council member Edmund Ford — the commissioner’s cousin — will face Adrian Killebrew in the Democratic primary.
Robert Hill, executive director of government and legislative affairs for the trustee, is running for Juvenile Court clerk, a position opened by Touliatos’ mayoral run.
Human resources professional and political progressive Torrey Harris will challenge Rep. John DeBerry Jr., a socially conservative incumbent, in the House District 90 Democratic primary. The district includes parts of South Memphis, Downtown, Midtown and Frayser.
Allan Creasy, a well-known activist in Democratic circles, plans to challenge incumbent Republican Rep. Jim Coley in House District 97, which includes parts of Bartlett, Cordova and North and East Memphis.
In the 8th Congressional District, Shelby County Democratic Party grassroots council member John Boatner Jr. of East Memphis will seek his party’s nomination to challenge incumbent Republican Rep. David Kustoff.
In the non-partisan Shelby County School Board election, District 9 incumbent Mike Kernell will be challenged by Alvin Crook, former president of the Shelby County Young Democrats…

In the governor’s race Republican Bill Lee opened an office at 5575 Poplar, Suite 813, across from the Memorial Park cemetery; while Democrat Karl Dean — opened offices at 3175 Poplar, across from East High School.

... Leave a Reply