Council Planning Smart Fees

The Campaign for Liberty has forwarded this warning about smart meters:

Memphis City Council (which must approve ALL MLGW funding) will SOON (in November) VOTE to ADD a $25 FEE every month to those who have (or will) OPT OUT ofthe very problematic SMART METER.

The FEE is set at $25 per month (continuously) beginning in January 2020.

This is being done “evasively” (to trick you!) by adding the charge into their 2020 BUDGET — without making a direct change to the current standing City Council RESOLUTION of October 2013 which gives FREE OPT OUT from smart meters at any time to ALL customers of MLGW!

This change is a DEVIOUS ACTION!

Immediately PLEASE begin calling and emailing your own Council Member (and ALL the Council Members) stating your DISAPPROVAL of overriding the 2013 Resolution which commits to FREE OPT OUT of SMART METERS at any time!

If you are an MLGW customer or not — PLEASE HELP!

Below you will find a list of all Council Members, email addresses and phone numbers to their staff members!

Here are some statements you can use (or change) in email or phone call:

Removing our FREE OPT OUT is dishonest, goes back on the decision in 2013 (by Resolution) to give MLGW customers the right to FREE OPT OUT at any time!

Citizens worked with City Council to assure our RIGHT to be FREE of the dangerous “smart” meter. In 2013 the customers of MLGW were heard!

Charging a FEE is punishment, is a slap in the face of those who DO NOT want a dangerous smart meter, with health hazards.

Health concerns, fire risk (from plastic, heat sensitive smart meters), issues of loss of privacy, with surveillance potential, and rising costs due to lower “life of use” of non-analog devices — ALL make me VERY concerned — thus I OPTED OUT! My OPT OUT IS FREE by Resolution!

To work “behind the back” of local citizens, HIDING a FEE change in a 300+ page MLGW Budget, is devious and a FRAUD! Shame on MLGW!

When the VOTE comes up, say NO — in behalf of many thousands of MLGW customers who have already formally OPTED OUT! There is report of over 100,000 opt outs!

There is good reason why we choose to OPT OUT. Our City Council should be DEFENDING OUR RIGHT to safety and to free choice to avoid smart meter RISKS!

PLEASE WRITE and/or CALL City Council Members!
Please share this information with ALL your friends, who will fight for our RIGHT to OPT OUT at NO COST!!

To send an email to all (blind copy is best) select the entire group of emails listed here and paste into your email address area:

sherman.greer@memphistn.gov, frank.colvettjr@memphistn.gov, patrice.robinson@memphistn.gov, jamita.swearengen@memphistn.gov, worth.morgan@memphistn.gov, gerre.currie@memphistn.gov, berlin.boyd@memphistn.gov, joe.brown@memphistn.gov, cheyenne.johnson@memphistn.gov, martavius.jones@memphistn.gov, kemp.conrad@memphistn.gov

CONTACT INFORMATION

The City Council employs several support staff members to aid the Council Members in their communications with their constituents. If you would like to contact your City Council representative, you may reach them by e-mail at their addresses below or through staff, using the contact information below.
Including Council Member, Staff Analyst, and Assistant email and phone numbers:

Sherman Greer (District 1)
sherman.greer@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Ashleigh Hayes
ashleigh.hayes@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6785
Assistant: Dynisha Clark
dynisha.clark@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6775
………………

Frank Colvett, Jr. (District 2)
frank.colvettjr@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Ashleigh Hayes
ashleigh.hayes@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6785
Assistant: Dynisha Clark
dynisha.clark@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6775
………………..

Patrice Robinson (District 3)
patrice.robinson@memphistn.gov

Analyst: LaKevia Perry
lakevia.perry@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6793
Assistant: Rebecca Garcia
rebecca.garcia@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6795
………………..

Jamita Swearengen (District 4)
jamita.swearengen@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Sophia Wordlaw
sophia.wordlaw@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6798
Assistant: Devon Thompson
Devon.Thompson@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6782
………………..

Worth Morgan (District 5)
worth.morgan@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Ashleigh Hayes
ashleigh.hayes@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6785
Assistant: Clay Wilson
clay.wilson@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6787
………………..

Gerre Currie (District 6)
gerre.currie@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Brooke Hyman
brooke.hyman@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6706
Assistant: Judy Milam
judy.milam@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6799
………………..

Berlin Boyd (District 7)
berlin.boyd@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Brooke Hyman
brooke.hyman@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6706
Assistant: Devon Thompson
Devon.Thompson@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6782
………………..

Joe Brown (District 8-1)
joe.brown@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Sophia Wordlaw
sophia.wordlaw@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6798
Assistant: Rebecca Garcia
rebecca.garcia@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6795
………………..

Cheyenne Johnson (District 8-2)
cheyenne.johnson@memphistn.gov

Analyst: LaKevia Perry
lakevia.perry@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6793
Assistant: Rebecca Garcia
rebecca.garcia@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6795
………………..

Martavius Jones (District 8-3)
martavius.jones@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Brooke Hyman
brooke.hyman@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6706
Assistant: Devon Thompson
Devon.Thompson@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6782
………………..

Kemp Conrad (District 9 -1)
kemp.conrad@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Juaness Keplinger
juaness.keplinger@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6797
Assistant: Judy Milam
judy.milam@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6799
………………..

J. Ford Canale (District 9-2)
jford.canale@memphistn.gov

Analyst: Ashleigh Hayes
ashleigh.hayes@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6706
Assistant: Clay Wilson
clay.wilson@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6787
………………..

Reid Hedgepeth (District 9-3)
reid.hedgepeth@memphistn.gov

Analyst: LaKevia Perry
lakevia.perry@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6793
Assistant: Trudy Pope
trudy.pope@memphistn.gov
(901) 636-6786

... Leave a Reply