Midtown References

Although Midtown is a rather vague term for an area in Memphis, it basically entails Central Gardens, Overton Park, Hein Park near Rhodes College, Cooper Young, Annesdale Snowden, Little Hanoi and the Parkway.

Our voting precincts are 11-0, 16-1, 16-3, 17-0, 20-1, 20-3, 21-0, 28-0, 32-0, 33-0, 36-1 and 36-3. If you do not know your precinct number and polling place, you can find it at www.shelbyvote.com. Simply plug in your house number and street and it will tell you where to vote.

All of Midtown is in the 9th Congressional District and we are represented by Steve Cohen (D). Memphis office: Clifford Davis/Odell Horton Federal Building, 167 N. Main Suite 369, 38103. Phone: 901-544-4131. In Washington: 202-225-3265. Email: cohen.house.gov.

Our Senators are (1) Lamar Alexander (R), 455 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C., 20510. Phone: 202-224-4944. Email: alexander.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=Email. His Memphis liaison is Lora Jobe, Lora_[email protected] and (2) Bob Corker (R), 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C., 20510. Phone: 202-224-3344. Email: corker.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=ContactMe. His Memphis liaison is Nick Kistenmacher, email: [email protected].

In the state senate, Midtown is represented by districts 29 and 30. District 29: Ophelia Ford (D), 54 North Arcadian #120, 38103. Memphis number: 901-575-2321, Nashville: 615-71-1767. email: [email protected]. District 30: Beverly Marrero (D), 243 Hawthorne, 38112, 615-741-9128. email: [email protected].

In the Tennessee House, we are represented by districts 89, 90 and 92. District 89: Jeanne Richardson (D), 797 N. Evergreen, 38107, 615-741-2010; email: [email protected]. District 90: John Deberry (D), 1207 Sledge, 38104, 901-725-0130; 615-741-2239; email [email protected]. District 92: GA Hardaway (D), 1243 Worthington St., 615-741-5625; email [email protected].

Our City Council/School Board is mostly in 5, but some are in 4 and 7. The address is 125 N. Main Room 514, 38103, phone: 576-6786. District 4: Wanda Halbert, [email protected]; District 5, Jim Strickland, [email protected]; District 7, Barbara Swearengen Ware, [email protected].

County Commission is mostly district 2, but some 1. Commissioners in District 1 are Mike Ritz, Heidi Shafer, Mike Carpenter. District 2, Walter Bailey, Henri Brooks and Melvin Burgess. The phone number is 545-4301. All emails are first name.last [email protected]

... Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.